My #lrnchat experience

Last Thursday evening, even though I wasn’t feeling very well and wanted to just crash, I joined into #lrnchat on twitter, hoping to expand my personal learning network.  In introduction, I sent this tweet:

No response, so I rearead an realized I had used #learnchat rather than #lrnchat.  How silly of me, so I tried again:

Still no response, though I watched classmates exchanging greetings.  Well, the tweets were flying by, so I figured it was hard for all to keep up and that I’d eventually get engaged in the conversation.  I sent 6 additional tweets without any response at all and gave up, discouraged, after an hour.

Subsequently, I’ve learned from Jeannette that what happened was most probably a “fluke” caused by an unusual way Twitter may be treating new accounts with few followers as “spam.”

This is a course in informal learning, so here’s some of what I learned:

1.  It is incredibly frustrating to feel invisible.  I found myself less open and curious about what folks were saying that I might have learned from as I kept wondering why my messages were getting no response.  As I incorporate social tools into my PLN and into my learning strategy, this is something to be aware of to avoid turning people off.

2.  Technology is imperfect – just as people are imperfect.  (Thanks, Jeannette!).  As individual users/learners, we need to master the technology to learn its quirks, and as learning facilitators/network nurturers/knowledge curators, we need to be sure to be on the lookout for these imperfections and flukes. Perhaps people are participating but their posts are blocked for some reason…

3.  If resilience in organizations results from higher social capital at lower transaction costs, resilience in people comes from a sense of optimism, confidence and love of learning.

I’ll try #lrnchat again next time.

4 thoughts on “My #lrnchat experience

  1. So sorry you missed out on participation. It is really validating when someone else comments on your posts during the discussion. Lurking and watching in social media only gets you so much. But contributing really bumps us the learning, motivation, and value for me.

  2. Sorry you had such a bad experience. If it makes you feel better, I teach technology and fancy myself someone not afraid to try new things. (My first email was before Windows 3.1) However, I find learning new things live on the web VERY intimidating. It’s one thing to hack around on a program in the privacy of your own computer, but learning while being watched is never comfortable. I just keep telling myself that ‘they’ have all been in the same position and if they can’t sympathize than I probably should not care what they think….

    Another thing I learned teaching. If you want a response, ask a question, don’t make a statement. If you ‘say’ something people probably read it, agreed, nod in agreement, and move on. If you ask a question human nature is to want to answer it. (even if you don’t have an answer…)

    What do you think?

  3. Please do try again! The fluke you experienced seems to be something new with Twitter, as I had it happen with one of my own classes recently. My guess is in the name of reducing spam accounts they’ve perhaps overcorrected with limits on activity from new accounts. Thanks for your patience.

    Best,
    Jane

    • Thanks – I will! Was on vacation for the last one, but enjoyed the last #realwplearn. Actually I got help from Twitter support: my messages were bouncing because I had mistyped my email address when I first signed up. It’s all good now – see you in the next #lrnchat! If I type the hashtag correctly!

Leave a Reply

