Who am I and why am I here?

I love to learn and I love to teach.  I’ve been doing both for a very, very long time.  In my 35+ year career, I’ve set up an HR department, two training departments and three consulting practices.  I’ve designed and implemented numerous performance management systems, competency assessment systems and workplace learning management systems.  I’ve designed and delivered hundreds of instructor-led training programs and dozens of webinars and e-learning modules, mostly in professional and leadership development.    I’ve developed mentoring programs, competency based employee selection programs, pay for performance programs, used technology whenever it made sense, and hired, led and mentored scores of talented people.  Through it all, I’ve striven to be both an innovator and a results-oriented business partner.

But I’ve never had the time, money and motivation – all at the same time – to get a masters degree.  So here I am halfway through an MA in ISD – kids educated, fairly financially secure – at an age when most people start to think about retiring.  I just love working, learning and teaching and see this path as a way to enhance my knowledge and credibility, build my network,  fill in some of the blanks resulting from being largely self-educated, and to continue to contribute to better workplaces – for organizations and people.

I’m in this specific course, because I believe in informal learning.  I know that most of my own learning has been self-directed over the years.  In my current job, I work from home for a very small company without much opportunity for internal networking.  I need to reach out to find people to think and learn with.  Seems like I’ve found that here – and hope many of us will remain connected after class is over!

Here’s a quote from my readings for EDUC671, which I’m also taking this summer:

“…be sure you always travel with two suitcases – one filled with everything you know and a second empty one to fill with what you will learn from others along the way”  Robert W. Galvin, former chairman of Motorola, from The ASTD Handbook for Workplace Learning Professionals, Elaine Biech, Ed, 2008.  p 4.

2 thoughts on “Who am I and why am I here?

  1. Love this post Chris and so happy to be learning with you again! Your experience and knowledge bring so much to each class we enjoy together. Thanks for being here with your enthusiasm and expertise!

Leave a Reply

